Going Dark (Update #2)

From: Dr. James Garrett
To: Melissa Quinn
Date: March 13, 2036
Subject: Ian

Mrs. Quinn, I hesitate to trouble you, but I was wondering if there’s anything wrong with your son, Ian. The incident at the chemistry lab was three weeks ago, and he hasn’t been to class, or been seen around campus since. I do hope he’s alright. Ian’s one of my best students, and he has a great future in the sciences.

From Melissa Quinn
To: Dr. James Garrett
Date: March 13, 2036
Subject: RE: Ian

He hasn’t been seen around campus? What the hell does that mean? Dr. Garrett, what’s going on there? Where is my son? Has anyone spoken to his room-mate? Is his car still there?

From: Dr. James Garrett
To: Melissa Quinn
Date: March 13, 2036
Subject: RE: Ian

Mrs. Quinn,

I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to worry you. I thought he might have gone home. You mean he hasn’t? That’s indeed troubling. I just checked with campus security and they tell me his car isn’t in any of the University lots. His room-mate was the fellow in the lab accident with him, and he hasn’t been seen either. Neither one of them is the type to take off without telling anyone. With your permission, I’d like to file a missing person’s report with the police. I suggest you do the same.

Text Message Exchange March 13, 2036

Edward Quinn: Ian?
Edward Quinn: Talk to me, son. Your mother and I are worried. Where are you?
Edward Quinn: Ian?
Ian Quinn: Dad? I’m GD
Edward Quinn: Where are you? Why aren’t you in school?
Ian Quinn: IMS.
Edward Quinn: ?
Ian Quinn: Sorry.
Edward Quinn: Sorry? What the hell does that mean?
Ian Quinn: I’m scared, dad.
Edward Quinn: Why? What’s wrong?
Ian Quinn: CT.
Edward Quinn: Talk English!
Ian Quinn: Cant tell you
Edward Quinn: Why not? Are you in trouble?
Ian Quinn: Y
Edward Quinn: What did you do?
Ian Quinn: 404.
Edward Quinn: ?
Ian Quinn: I don’t know, dad. We’re being followed.
Edward Quinn: We?
Ian Quinn: Kevin and I
Edward Quinn: Your roommate?
Ian Quinn: Y
Edward Quinn: Go to the police
Ian Quinn: No
Edward Quinn: Why not?
Ian Quinn: Tried. Men outside station. Recognized em.
Edward Quinn: the same ones following you?
Ian Quinn: Y
Ian Quinn: Have 2 go, dad. TLK2UL8R
Edward Quinn: Ian?
Edward Quinn: Ian?
Edward Quinn: Take care, son. We love you.

 

(c) 2015 Thomas F. Brown, All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

